top of page
Search

Big Bear City, CA 🧸🌲❄️




In 2016, I was camping near Yellowstone and I was trying to boil water for coffee but couldn’t find my lighter…I looked around and saw a couple with a cute dog so I figured I’d ask for some help. (I HAVE to have my coffee in the morning 😳)


Next thing I know it’s 30 minutes later and I’m listening to their amazing life stories sipping on coffee they made me. Fast forward to 2022 and I finally made the visit I promised 6 years ago…and I am SO grateful I did.


Introducing, Tom and Denise Highberger



There are not enough words to describe how amazing these two are and the lives they’ve lived. Denise is an active, trail blazing dog lover who used to be a Forrester in the Pacific Northwest. Tom is a horse riding, nature loving book of knowledge who used to be a rescue ski patroller on too many mountains for me to list and he was also a park ranger for several years . The amount of stories they told of their adventures and the places they have seen is unbelievable….they both grew up out West riding horses and learning about the environment and what they taught me while I was there, I can’t thank them enough for. 💜


Here are some pics of our time together:







Big Bear is a small town but very popular for ski and snowboarding during winter season. They live in a cute cabin steps away from trails that they themselves built! We would hike every morning and afternoon so the dogs could explore and we could get some nature time. They knew every type of tree, plant or animal that was in that forrest....Tom even taught me that if the pine tree smelled of Vanilla, then it was a Ponderosa Pine!




While inside, we sat by the fire and they told stories, even explaining to me how a horses saddle is made and the different types (I felt like such a city girl not knowing some of these things!) They cooked AMAZING meals for me every day and always had hot coffee waiting in the morning. They even helped me plan out my route and places to see while in California.


Leaving was awfully hard, had to hurry up and get in the van because I was crying so hard =(


Denise and Tom (and Luna and Ralph) I think you are two amazingly wonderful people and I cannot wait to see you again!





42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page