top of page
Search

The not so fun part of van life 🫤


So the traveling and adventures are amazing but there some not so fun parts to this as well.


- Dirty clothes. They add up quick especially since I go to the gym 4 days a week (hard to rewear sweaty ass clothes). Usually spend about $7-8 a trip and Luci and I go for walks or clean the van while we’re waiting. Today I spent the time fixing a few things and writing this blog so no time wasted!




- Creepos at night. Ugh. Luckily no one has actually broken in but they have tried. One night I woke up to Luci growling and someone sliding my window open. Yelled at them and they took off. Had a couple people pull on the handles but that’s it. I have protection with me in various forms but haven’t had to used them yet (let’s hope it stays that way)




- HEAT. Big metal van and hot sun do not mix well when it’s above 80. When I was in California there were a few days I had to turn the van on to run the AC because the inside temp was pushing 90! Most of my trip has been based off of three things and weather is number 1.



- Showering. I initially bought a propane shower and built a sit down shower in the van. The first time I tried using it I quickly realized this wasnt gonna cut it. Its 10pm, 45 degrees outside (great time to try it out 😑) and I get everything prepared- lay out my towel, shower supplies, plug in the propane shower and have the 5 gallon water jug that came with it all hooked up.

So you have to turn it on then ignite the heat portion. Well 75 clicks later it ignites but by this time, half my water has pumped down the drain (no, there is no way to stop the water flow). Fuck it, whatever…I quickly hop in get my hair wet and soapy….and the damn thing shuts off. Yellow blinking light. Says it’s not sufficiently charged 😠. WHY DOES IT HAVE TO BE CHARGED AND PLUGGED IN. So here I am naked, soapy and cold..Luci staring at me like I’m crazy, not know what the hell to do. I end up taking my water jug full of cold water, rinse my hair out, wrap myself in a towel and drink wine on the floor in front of my diesel heater. Great night. I joined Planet Fitness and never used the damn Thing again.


82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page