top of page
Search

Celebró la navidad en Nuevo Mexico


I made the decision to head South from Colorado for 2 reasons, 1) To visit a friend in New Mexico where i've never been 2) to get to warmer weather (so over Michigan winters)


I met Gabrielle this past year working on our trek with True North Treks at Yellowstone. We take young adults who have been effected by cancer on backcountry backpacking trips to provide connection with nature, others and self. These treks are so healing and as you can imagine, you can grow close to others quickly.....hence my friendship with Gabrielle!

(above is the link to the TNT website if you want to check it out)


So I arrived in Santa Fe on Christmas eve night and decided to treat myself for the holiday by getting a room at the Guadalupe Inn. IT WAS SO RELAXING....


Had the opportunity to go out and walk Canyon Road for the Farolito Walk. In Spanish, the word farolito translates as “little lantern” and they line the road, courtyards, gardens and businesses with these lanterns as well as provide live music and art displays.





The next morning on Christmas day, Luci and I went for a beautiful hike on Atalaya Mountain. I've never hiked in a dessert environment before and even though it was a bit chilly, it was still super cool. The terrain was SO different than what I was used to!





Post trek, I headed to the one store that was still open.....thank you Walgreens for being there for me when I had nothing besides tuna packets and granola bars to bring to a potluck party I was invited to.

If you're wondering what I got there for a potluck.....a box of microwavable cake in a mug packets. Everyone loves chocolate so shut it.


EXCEPT when you show up and you find out they don't have a microwave........



Moving on.


The party was so much fun and it felt great to be with a group of people who fully accepted me without even knowing me, especially on a holiday where most people are spending time with families. Good food, good people, dog park time, lots of laughter and plenty of spirits!








Two days later, some if us hiked a mountain to go sledding! This was MUCH different than the Michigan 'climb a small steep ass hill and pray you don't break something within the 30 yards you are flying down' type of sledding. This was much safer lol...also, it took a minute for Gabrielle and I to get a decent picture = /




Even though it was a chilly visit, it was amazing and I am learning to love van life a little bit more. Thank you Gabrielle for the awesome time......







25 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page